Disable Time Display

I like to keep a clean desktop, uncluttered with icons, file folders and crap that seems to gather there. I have only 3 shortcuts and the recycle bin on it. I do have a few essential Yahoo Widgets – Analog Clock, Weather and a Google Search Bar. But that’s it. (I didn’t really need the Widgets, but they are pretty to look at)

My Quick Launch Toolbar has 14 shortcuts, a must have. And the system tray has 8 icons that are hidden. So what’s missing?

The XP notification area time display! I was running out of room down there…

To disable Windows XP notification area time display, you can “add” the following Windows XP registry hack:

Key: Software\Microsoft\Windows\

Name: HideClock
Value: 1

Leave a Reply

