RKill – Geek Tool of the Day

I was eyeing this tool the other day, thinking I might need it for my tool belt. Sure enough, I ran into a system that had a dll that was running and would replicate itself when I unchecked it using the Startup Control Panel. Oh yea, it had a Trojan reminant running and the antivirus couldn’t remove it.

So, I ran this little gem, it stopped the process and just seconds later, seriously, the antivirus caught and removed the running dll. NICE! Here’s the excerpt on what this tool does:

RKill is a program that was developed at BleepingComputer.com that attempts to terminate known malware processes so that your normal security software can then run and clean your computer of infections. When RKill runs it will kill malware processes and then import a Registry file that removes incorrect file associations and fixes policies that stop us from using certain tools. When finished it will display a log file that shows the processes that were terminated while the program was running.

via |MG| RKill Latest Download.

Posted in Geek Tools. Tags: , . 1 Comment »

One Response to “RKill – Geek Tool of the Day”

  1. Batman Says:

    This is something I am going to check out.

    One thing I have been doing for a while is naming my no install tools explorer.exe to evade some of the malware that stops it from running. When I run autoruns and process explorer this really helps.

Leave a Reply

